• Announcements
  • Josef Strauss
    written by Norbert Rubey

    ‘He’s more talented, I’m more popular.’  That was how Johann Strauss II once passed judgement on his younger brother Josef.   If you take into account how well known each of the two brothers is, how often his name appears on concert programmes, and how much attention is paid to his life and his music, then it seems that nothing much has changed down to the present day.  There is not even agreement on the location of the house where Josef Strauss was born either in the not exactly extensive literature on him or in books on Vienna.

    The inevitable has happened: today I played for the first time.

    2007 saw the 180th anniversary of the birth of Josef Strauss (20 August 1827):  the ‘more talented’ one, who did not want to achieve distinction by hunting human life when his father envisaged a military career for him;  the one who proved his talent as an artist, who invented a street-cleaning machine, who broke off his career as a civil engineer and on 23 July 1853 had to write to his wife Caroline, ‘The inevitable has happened:  today I played for the first time.’  He had bowed to the business interests of the extended Strauss family and had taken over as conductor of the Strauss orchestra in place of his famous brother Johann, at that time convalescing in Bad Neuhaus, a health resort in what is now Slovenia.  The title of Josef’s first waltz, Die Ersten und Letzten (The First and Last) makes it clear:  the period of activity as a conductor which had been forced on him was only meant to be a brief interlude.  As everyone now knows, it was inevitable that Die Ersten nach den Letzten (The First After the Last) would follow.  It was the strict hierarchy laid down for the extended Strauss family by their mother, Anna Strauss, and Josef’s early death just before his forty-third birthday that prevented him from stepping out of the shadow of the ‘more popular one’.

    Because they were extremely successful, quite a number of Josef Strauss’s works have nevertheless been able to establish themselves firmly in the concert repertoire throughout the world, among them the waltzes Sphärenklänge (Music of the Spheres), Dorfschwalben aus Österreich (Austrian Village Swallows), Mein Lebenslauf ist Lieb’ und Lust (Live, Love and Laugh), Delirien (Deliriums), Perlen der Liebe (Pearls of Love),  Frauenherz (Woman’s Heart), Die Libelle (The Dragonfly).

    Josef Strauss’s compositions have been described and characterised as ‘half the time happy, half the time sad’ by Hugo von Hofmannsthal and as ‘elegaically ecstatic’ by Hans Weigl.  Richard Strauss was so fascinated by his unrelated namesake’s waltz Dynamiden that he included it in his opera Der Rosenkavalier.  Nowadays the Rosenkavalier Waltz is much better known than the waltz it is based on:  the vast mass of operagoers are hardly likely to be aware of its existence.  Many musical treasures are still waiting to be discovered.

• Ankündigungen
  • Josef Strauss
    von Norbert Rubey

    „Er ist der Begabtere, ich bin der Populärere“, urteilte Johann Strauss (Sohn) einmal über seinen jüngeren Bruder Josef. Gemessen am Bekanntheitsgrad, an der Präsenz in den Konzertprogrammen, an der Auseinandersetzung mit Leben und Werk scheint sich daran bis heute nicht viel geändert zu haben. Sogar über den Ort, wo sein Geburtshaus stand, finden sich in der spärlich vorhandenen Josef-Strauss-Literatur und verschiedenen Wien-Büchern widersprüchliche Angaben.

    Das Unvermeidliche ist geschehen, ich spiele heute zum ersten Male …

    Am 20. August 2007 jährte sich zum 180. Mal der Geburtstag des „Begabteren“, – der „nicht durch Jagdmachen auf Menschenleben ausgezeichnet werden“ wollte, als der Vater eine militärische Laufbahn für ihn vorsah; der sich literarisch betätigte; der bildnerisches Talent bewies; der eine Straßenkehrmaschine erfand; der eine Karriere als Bauingenieur abbrach und am 23. Juli 1853 an seine zukünftige Gattin Caroline schreiben musste, „Das Unvermeidliche ist geschehen, ich spiele heute zum ersten Male …“. Den Geschäftsinteressen der Großfamilie Strauss sich beugend hatte er für den zur Kur in Bad Neuhaus weilenden berühmten Bruder Johann die Leitung der Strauss-Kapelle übernommen. Sein erster Walzertitel „Die Ersten und Letzten“ drückt es aus: Nur ein kurzes Intermezzo sollte die aufgezwungene Kapellmeister-Tätigkeit sein. Bekanntlich ließen sich „Die Ersten nach den Letzten“ nicht vermeiden. Eine von der Mutter bestimmte strenge Hierarchie in der Großfamilie Strauss und sein früher Tod im Alter von kaum 43 Jahren verhinderten Josefs Heraustreten aus dem Schatten des „Populäreren“.

    Weil sie überaus gelungen sind, konnten trotzdem gar nicht wenige Werke von Josef Strauss ihren fixen Platz auf den Konzertpodien der Welt erobern: die Walzer „Sphären-Klänge“, „Dorfschwalben aus Österreich“, „Mein Lebenslauf ist Lieb und Lust“, „Delirien“, „Perlen der Liebe“, die Polka Mazur „Frauenherz“ oder „Die Libelle“.

    „Elegisch schwärmerisch“, beschreibt Hans Weigel die Kompositionen; „ein halb mal lustig, ein halb mal traurig“, charakterisiert sie Hugo von Hofmannsthal. Richard Strauss faszinierte des nicht verwandten Namensvetters Walzer „Dynamiden“ so sehr, dass er ihn in die Oper „Der Rosenkavalier“ aufnahm: Der „Rosenkavalier-Walzer“ ist heute bekannter als die Vorlage dazu, die im Bewusstsein des breiten Opernpublikums kaum verankert ist. Viele vergessene musikalische Schätze harren ihrer Entdeckung.